Your currency and compass

Why are you doing or creating with your life? And why should it matter? There are certain points in our lives where we are faced with situations which demands we answer this question. Sometimes we are caught off guard and really ask ourselves, “Why am I here?”or “Why am I doing this?”

Achievement is wonderful when you know why you’re doing it. You have your rewards, but what is your reason?
I have read somewhere that you should find out early on what your currency is going to be. Personally, I have decided that it will not be my personal and professional image, my educational background or social status. My currency will be what I say, write and do.

The effect you have on others is the most valuable currency there is.

Why am I here? For each of us, the intention is personal and passionate: to know what we are here to do and why.
Your WHAT is your mission and your WHY is your purpose. Your purpose then becomes your compass, your guiding anchor to the people, places and opportunities that will bring out your deepest passions.
Align your whats, the activities that you do to your why or your purpose. That way, you can be doing your passions and know your reason for pursuing those dreams.

Why am I here? I am here because I made a deliberate choice to take a risk and take a chance despite adversities. I am more afraid of chances I didn’t take than to experience failure.

As one of my greatest poetic influences said, “You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow. This opportunity comes once in a lifetime.”

Yes, I’m referring to Eminem. The song: Lose Yourself.

With risk comes a fire, a burning desire that makes your heart leap with hope. With anxiety comes excitement, the invigorating joy of diving into the unknown and seeing where it could lead you. I have learned that when your goal is to gain experience, perspective and knowledge, failure can no longer be a possibility.
I hope that you would also take a moment to reflect and answer the same question: “Why am I here?”

Leave a Reply

